Osteopatic concept

Osteopathic medicine was founded in the United States in the late 19th century by Dr. Andrew Taylor Still."Osteopathy is the art of diagnosing and manually treating restricted movement in body tissues that gives rise to functional disorders that can disrupt health." Three fundamental principles emerge:

 
  • The body is a unit; the person is a unit of body, mind, and spirit. No single part exists independent of the whole. When even a small part of the body does not function optimally, the entire person is affected.

  • The body is capable of self-regulation, self-healing, and health maintenance. The human body is always working to maintain a state of balanced function. Dr Still stated, "All the remedies necessary to health exist in the human body."
 
  • Structure and function are reciprocally inter-related. Dr. Still described the body as being like a machine. It has interrelated parts that need to be in proper position and to move correctly for optimal function. Therefore according to him, "Disease is the result of anatomical abnormalities followed by physiologic discord."

Osteopaths rely on their hands to identify tensions and imbalances throughout the body. The approach, which is both curative AND preventive, is based on a thorough knowledge of anatomy and physiology and a holistic view of the human body.

 

Home Who am I? Osteopathy Information FAQ Contact Mail Sitemap Français Partager

Concept de l'Ostéopathie

Découverte aux Etats- unis à la fin du XIXème siècle par le Docteur Andrew Taylor Still, l’ostéopathie se définit comme un art de diagnostic et de traitement par les mains, une science et une philosophie.
Trois principes fondamentaux se dégagent :

 
  • L’unité de fonction du corps humain : l’être humain est un tout. Il forme une unité complète biologique, émotionnelle et spirituelle. Il ne fonctionne bien que dans sa totalité. Toute perturbation, qu'elle soit traumatique, organique ou autre, aura une répercussion à distance.
  • Le potentiel d’autoguérison : l’organisme a la faculté de s’autoréguler pour peu qu’on lui en donne les moyens : « il n’appartient pas au praticien de guérir le malade. Son rôle est d’ajuster une partie à l’ensemble du système, de sorte que les courants vitaux puissent s'y répandre et irriguer les parties affectées ».
 
  • Une interdépendance entre la Structure et la Fonction : chaque structure du corps a une fonction physiologique (par exemple : tube digestif = structure, fonction = digestion). Les différentes fonctions que l’organisme doit accomplir ne peuvent se réaliser qui si l’organe ou la structure qui les gouverne est en parfait état.

 

L’ostéopathe exerce en s’appuyant sur une connaissance approfondie de l’anatomie, de la biomécanique et de la physiologie.
Il n’utilise que ses mains : il peut percevoir des déséquilibres ou des tensions grâce à un toucher spécifique, doux et précis. Grâce à cette qualité d’écoute palpatoire, l’ostéopathie est une thérapie préventive et curative.

 

Accueil Qui suis-je? Ostéopathie Renseignements FAQ Contact Courriel Plan du site English Partager